Deb Announces Winner of Inaugural Bursary for Nanango Electorate Year 12 School Leavers

Member for Nanango, Deb Frecklington has announced the winner of her inaugural Nanango Electorate Year 12 School Leavers Bursary.

After receiving an overwhelming number of applications, five were shortlisted and interviews held with Mrs Frecklington and a representative of the Red Earth Community Foundation.

“I was very impressed with the calibre of applicants and the decision was a difficult one,” Deb said.

“I’m thrilled to announce Megan Frohloff of Kingaroy as the successful applicant.

“Megan will be undertaking a Bachelor of Education (Primary) at USQ, Toowoomba – a profession she’s entering due to the positive influence her own teachers at Kingaroy State High have had on her learnings.”

Mrs Frecklington said that for many school leavers, it is often necessary to travel, or move to major centres to access further education and the bursary is designed to help with those costs.

“The Bursary is worth $1000 and aims to provide financial assistance with the costs associated with moving to their place of learning, the purchase of books, IT, tools or other necessary requirements” Deb said.

Applications for the 2020 Deb Frecklington Nanango Electorate Year 12 School Leavers Bursary will open on 5 October 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *