State of Fire Emergency Declaration partially lifted as conditions ease this applies to the Moreton Bay Region

The State of Fire Emergency Declaration imposed on a slew of local government areas in early November has been partially wound back as fire conditions ease.

Acting Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) Commissioner Mike Wassing said the Declaration would be lifted from 36 of 42 local government areas.

The far-reaching Declaration was imposed across a large stretch of the state on November 9 to ban activities that could cause fires to ignite, including the use of power tools, barbecues and naked flames outdoors.

The move was in response to an escalating bushfire risk gripping parts of Queensland.

“The State of Fire Emergency Declaration now applies only to Toowoomba, Lockyer Valley, Somerset, Ipswich, Southern Downs and Scenic Rim local government areas,” Mr Wassing said.

“Significant blazes continue to burn in these areas and the bushfire risk remains high, which is why the Declaration will continue until further notice.

“The Declaration has been cancelled in areas where the bushfire danger has fallen.”

Mr Wassing said the Declaration would also be amended to provide clarity for fireworks operators in the remaining six local government areas.

“We have listened to feedback from fireworks operators about the various types of activities that were restricted but did not pose a risk from vegetation fire and we have taken steps to clarify the declaration,” Mr Wassing said.

“These types of displays must comply with the Queensland Code of Practice Close Proximity Fireworks and be approved by the Assistant
Commissioner for the Rural Fire Service, however it is does not permit the large aerial displays.

“QFES will continue to closely monitor the risks in the local government areas still under the Declaration and will lift restrictions when it is safe to do so.”

Mr Wassing said residents in the 36 local government areas where the Declaration had been lifted might still be under local fire bans.

“Local Fire Bans have been re-introduced in many local government areas that were covered by the Declaration,” he said

“Residents should speak with their local fire wardens and visit the Rural Fire Service website to determine what restrictions are in place.”

Mr Wassing said the decision to impose the Declaration was necessary given the bushfire threat confronting Queensland.

“Many parts of the state were experiencing dangerous fire weather conditions, so moves had to be taken quickly to address this,” Mr Wassing said.

“I want to thank the community for abiding by these conditions and doing their bit to prevent bushfires starting and spreading.”

Mr Wassing said all Queenslanders should remain vigilant and take proactive measures to prepare their loved ones and properties to withstand bushfires.

“Queensland is in the midst of a prolonged and intense bushfire season, so the threat of fires is far from over,” he said.

“Preparing a Bushfire Survival Plan and clearing flammable materials from properties all contribute to reducing the bushfire risk and assisting our crews on the ground.”

Local Government Areas where the Declaration applies

QFES Region         LGA

South Eastern:  Ipswich City
Lockyer Valley Regional
Scenic Rim Regional
Somerset Regional

South Western:  Toowoomba Regional
Southern Downs Region

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *