Beyond the barracks – Queensland students uncover Anzac history

Minister for Education Grace Grace has met with this year’s Premier’s Anzac Prize winners who are preparing for a trip of a lifetime in April.

Ms Grace said the prize recipients in grades 8-11 were participating in a two-day Young Historians’ Workshop at the State Library of Queensland ahead of their trip to the Western Front.

“This workshop is a critical part of the Anzac Prize experience, as it provides the students a hands-on opportunity to take a close look at precious First World War collection items such as letters, diaries and photographs,” Ms Grace said.

“It’s always wonderful to meet with our budding historians and to hear their perspectives on our Anzac traditions and stories.”

Ms Grace said being selected as an Anzac Prize winner required students to research and commemorate three service people who served in Australian conflicts from World War 1 onwards.

“This research project gives the students an opportunity to connect with the Anzac tradition in a personal way by researching and writing about service people from their local area, or who may have enlisted at the same age as they are,” Ms Grace said.

“The Premier’s Anzac Prize is a fantastic program which has been running since 2013, providing once-in-a-lifetime opportunities for over 100 students.”  

Ms Grace said the 16-day tour kicks off on April 13, with the eight students and two teachers to attend a dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux in France.

“I’m excited to announce that in 2019, two exciting events have been added to the itinerary for our students and chaperones,” Ms Grace said.

“The group will visit the Naours Caves in Northern France, which contain the largest-known collection of First World War graffiti and signatures of up to 2,000 Australian soldiers.

“The group have also been invited to attend a Cobber’s night event – a celebration of the contribution by the Anzacs to the liberation of Fleurbaix from the Germans in World War 1.

“I’d like to wish the students and chaperones the best of luck on their journey.”

For more information on the Premier’s Anzac Prize, visit:

2019 Queensland Premier's Anzac Prize winners:

Annabel Jellett                       Queensland Academy for Health Sciences, Southport

Atticus Solomon                     Ambrose Treacy College (Indooroopilly)

Chontelle Harris                     Pimlico State High School

Claudia Maher                        Brigidine College (Indooroopilly)

Claudia McPherson                 Matthew Flinders Anglican College, Buderim

Douglas Gemmell                   Good Shepherd Lutheran College, Noosaville

Ella Magner                            Pimlico State High School

Madeline Francis                     Tamborine Mountain State High School

Teacher chaperones:

Darlene Hill                             Head of Department, Kepnock State High School

Peter Townsend                       Principal, Mundubbera State School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *