Queensland LNP to elect a new leader Tuesday as Tim Nichols concedes defeat in State Election

This morning LNP leader Tim Nichols phoned Annastacia Palaszczuk to concede defeat in the State Election and wished her the best.

Tim Nichols went on to say he is proud of the positive campaign the LNP ran and is taking  full responsibility for it.

At the party room Parliament House on Tuesday Tim Nichols will not seek to continue as LNP leader. It is time for a new generation of LNP leaders.

Meanwhile its expected that Ms Palaszczuk will now visit the Governor to inform him she can form government before holding a press conference later today.

A swing to Labor in Brisbane meant some LNP leadership contenders lost their seats including Scott Emerson and Ian Walker

Contenders for the job for the LNP include Everton MP Tim Mander , who ran for leadership against Tim Nicholls, was one of the few LNP MPs to increase their margin, LNP deputy Deb Frecklington could not be discounted, and reborn LNP star David Crisafulli are all possible candidates

The party room meeting will be held at 2pm next Tuesday, 12 December 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *