Moreton Bay Regional Council Elections 2016 Primer

Polling day: Saturday 19th March, 2016

It is compulsory for all Australian citizens over 18 years of age, living in Queensland, to be enrolled and vote in the election. Failure to vote may result in a fine.

Find information for:

I want to:

Election timetable

The official 2016 Local Government Quadrennial Elections Timetable (PDF, 105.8 KB) outlines the commencement and cut off dates for the entire election period. The table below highlights some of the key dates throughout the election period:

2016 Local Government Quadrennial Elections - Key Dates
Notice of election Saturday 6th February
Pre-poll postal vote applications commence Saturday 6th February
Candidate nominations commence Saturday 6th February
First close of rolls 5pm, Saturday 12th February
Close of nominations 12noon, Tuesday 16th February
Ballot draw 10am, Wednesday 17th February
In person pre-poll commences 9am, Monday 7th March
Pre-poll postal vote applications close 7pm, Wednesday 16th March
In person pre-poll closes 6pm, Friday 18th March
Polling day Saturday 19th March
Cut-off for return of postal ballot material 6pm, Tuesday 29th March
Disclosure returns due Monday 4th July

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *