New Queensland State Government unveiled with some new faces

As announced by Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk "We are 25 men and 23 women, representing a State that will soon be home to 5 million people spread across more than 1.7 million square kilometres" .

" Our Queensland Labor Caucus represents Queensland from top to bottom"

Today the Premier held the first Labor caucus meeting of the 56th Parliament flanked by her new economic team of senior ministers, Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships Jackie Trad, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Minister for Manufacturing Cameron Dick and Minister for Innovation, Minister for Tourism Industry Development, and Minister for the Commonwealth Games Kate Jones.

In short The cabinet has been expanded by one to 18, which now has nine female members and nine male members, a ratio Ms Palaszczuk says reflects the reality of the state’s population.

Some members keep their portfolios such as Member for Morayfield The Hon. Mark Ryan who retains Police and Correctional Services.

Member for Redcliffe Yvette D'Ath will be appointed additionally as Leader of the House as well as Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Member for Murrumba Dr. Steven Miles picks up the Ministry for Health and Ambulance Services, Grace Grace would keep Industrial Relations, but add Education to her responsibilities.

Former Child Safety Minister Shannon Fentiman has had her responsibilities significantly changed and is now Minister for Employment, Minister for Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development.

The new Minister for Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science and Minister for the Arts is Leeanne Enoch, who keeps Science, but picks up the Premier’s old Arts portfolio and Mr Miles’s old job of Environment Minister.

Mark Bailey will continue on as Main Roads Minister, with the added responsibility of Transport.

Natural Resources and Mines Minister Dr. Anthony Lynham will add Energy to his portfolio, while Housing, Public Works and Sport Minister Mick de Brenni has added Digital Technology to his job description.

Former treasurer Curtis Pitt we already knew would be sidelined from cabinet and will instead sit in the speaker’s chair for the coming term.

Barron River MP Craig Crawford being added to the mix to ensure far north Queensland is still represented following Mr Pitt’s departure.

Minister for Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors Coralee O’Rourke

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner

The Former Leader of the House Stirling Hinchliffe becomes Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs.

Minister for Child Safety, Youth and Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence Di Farmer

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford

Assistant Ministers

Assistant Minister for Veterans Affairs and Assistant Minister of State Jennifer Howard (Ipswich)

Assistant Minister for Treasury Glenn Butcher (Gladstone)

Assistant Minister for State Development Julieanne Gilbert (Mackay)

 Assistant Minister for Education Brittany Lauga (Keppel)

Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development Meaghan Scanlon (Gold Coast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *