LNP frontbench unveiled by new leader Tim Nicholls

Queensland's new Opposition Leader Tim Nicholls has unveiled his frontbench after Friday's election spill.

After Friday's leadership spill, Mr Nicholls said he wanted a mix of old and new to "take the fight to Labor".

Scott Emerson is moving from transport to shadow treasurer, while former deputy John-Paul Langbroek will take on the health and Commonwealth Games portfolios.

New deputy leader Deb Frecklington will also hold the position of infrastructure, state development, trade and investment, going toe-to-toe with Deputy Premier Jackie Trad.

Jarrod Bleijie will go from police spokesman to industrial relations, and Tracy Davis from communities to education.

Ros Bates gets a promotion from deputy whip to Opposition communities spokeswoman.

Meanwhile, ousted leader Lawrence Springborg will be nominated as chairman of the Parliamentary Crime and Corruption Committee (PCCC).

It is the only non-Government committee chair position appointed by the Opposition, but must get bipartisan support.

The LNP had nominated veteran Jeff Seeney for the role in 2015, but it was rejected by the Labor Government.

Current PCCC chair Trevor Watts would have to step down to make way for Mr Springborg.

A spokesman for the Premier said, "like the Newman government, Mr Nicholls should not ignore process for PCCC chair appointment".

"Any nomination for PCCC chair requires consultation and bipartisan support. There's been neither."

Mr Springborg said he had the skills for the role, but acknowledged he had not been fully endorsed yet.

"I am the nominee by our parliamentary leader and it will be up to the Government and all members of Parliament to see if that's acceptable," he said.

Parliament is sitting for three days from Tuesday.

Queensland's new shadow cabinet:

Deb Frecklington - Deputy Leader, infrastructure, state development, trad and investment

Scott Emerson - treasurer and small business

John-Paul Langbroek - health, ambulance services, Commonwealth Games

Tracy Davis - education

Jarrod Bleijie - employment, industrial relations, skills and training, fair trading

Andrew Powell - transport, main roads and local government

Tim Mander - police, fire and emergency services and corrective services

Andrew Cripps - natural resources and mines, northern development

Dale Last - agriculture, fisheries and forestry

Christian Rowan - environment and heritage protection, national parks and the Great Barrier Reef

Ian Walker - attorney-general, justice and planning

Fiona Simpson - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander partnerships and multicultural affairs

Ros Bates - communities, child safety, disabilities services, prevention of family and domestic violence

Michael Hart - energy, biofuels and water supply

Tarnya Smith - science, innovation and the digital economy

Stephen Bennett - housing and public works

Jon Krause - tourism, sport and racing

Matt McEachan - assistant to Opposition Leader

Jason Costigan - assistant for north Queensland

Jeff Seeney - Leader of Opposition Business

Trevor Watts - Chief Opposition Whip

Steve Minnikin - Deputy Whip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *