Winners of 2015 Awards for Excellence in Health

The response to the Ravenshoe burns incident and the Aspiring Women Leaders’ Summit team received special commendations at the 2015 Queensland Health and Department of Health Awards for Excellence.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Cameron Dick said the respective winners of the Minister and Director-General awards had demonstrated excellence across all award categories. 

“The Department of Surgery from Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service (CHHHS) responded to the Ravenshoe burns incident with incredible resilience, innovation, dedication and compassion,” Mr Dick said.

“It’s fitting that CHHHS receive this internal recognition in addition to their recent Premier’s Award for courage and integrity.

“The Department of Health’s organising committee for the 2015 Aspiring Women Leaders’ Summit displayed different but equally commendable attributes in winning the Director-General’s Award for Excellence.

“This one-day event provided inspiration, strategies and practical skills to assist aspiring female leaders to reach their full career potential, and to discuss the barriers to progression.”

Mr Dick said finalists for the 2015 awards reached from the Gold Coast in the south-east, to the Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service in the north and Mt Isa in the west.

“This desire for excellence stretches from the department to the frontline, and from our ‘ambos’ to the rural and remote communities we serve across Queensland,” he said.

“The commitment of Queensland Health staff to challenge the status quo and to seize upon opportunities to improve and innovate is admirable.”

A full list of winners for the 2015 Queensland Health and Department of Health Awards for Excellence is detailed below.


Winners – 2015 Queensland Health Awards for Excellence


Minister’s Award for Excellence

Response to Ravenshoe burns incident, Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Servic

Customer focus

CPR Awareness Program, State Local Ambulance Service Network Operations

Fostering innovation

Clint Mills (Waste Management), Rockhampton Hospital

Excellence in performance

Integrated Real-time Operational Ambulance Management, QAS

Integrity and accountability

Patient Safety First Initiative, Mackay Hospital and Health Service

Excellence in Leadership

Prevent Alcohol and Risk Related Trauma in Youth, Metro North Hospital and Health Service


Winners – 2015 Department of Health Awards for Excellence


Director-General’s Award for Excellence

Aspiring Women Leaders' Summit, Aspiring Women Leaders' Summit Organising Committee

Patients come first

Smoke Free Healthcare Initiative, Health and Wellbeing Unit and Health Economics and Purchasing Unit


Contracting and Performance Reporting System, Performance Reporting and Data Analytics


Emma Caunt and Robert Morgan, Forensic DNA Analysis

Workforce Capability

Building Clinician Leadership Capability, Healthcare Leadership Unit

Culture of respect

Summer School 2014, Summer School Organising Committee



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *