Four new faces in expanded Queensland Cabinet revealed by Palaszczuk

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has brought four new faces into an expanded Cabinet in a reshuffle announced this afternoon.

Bill Byrne becomes the new Minister for Police, after Jo-Ann Miller resigned from Cabinet last week in response to criticism of her performance by Parliament's ethics committee.

The four new faces in Cabinet are Stirling Hinchliffe, Grace Grace, Leanne Donaldson and Mark De Brenni.

In announcing the new line-up, Ms Palaszczuk said she was adding three extra ministers to Cabinet.

"I have thought long and hard about this, this has not been an easy decision for me," she said.

"I believe the best interests of Queensland are served with a greater capacity for my ministers to be able to meet stakeholders across the state."

Mr Hinchliffe becomes Minister for Transport and the Commonwealth Games.

Ms Grace is the new Minister Employment and Industrial Relations as well as Minister for Racing.

Mr De Brenni, a first term MP, is the new Minister for Housing and Public Works.

Ms Donaldson becomes the new Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries.



The Palaszczuk Cabinet:

Premier Minister for the Arts: Annastacia Palaszczuk

Deputy Premier Minister for Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Trade and Investment: Jackie Trad

Treasurer Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships and Minister for Sport: Curtis Pitt

Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services: Cameron Dick

Minister for Education and Minister for Tourism and Major Events: Kate Jones

Minister for State Development Minister for Natural Resources and Mines: Dr Anthony Lynham

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Minister for Training and Skills: Yvette D'Ath

Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services, Minister for Corrective Services: Bill Byrne

Minister for Transport and the Commonwealth Games: Stirling Hinchliffe

Minister for Main Roads, Road Safety and Ports and Minister for Energy, Biofuels and Water Supply: Mark Bailey

Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection and Minister for National Parks and the Great Barrier Reef: Dr Steven Miles

Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and Minister for Small Business: Leeanne Enoch

Minister for Communities, Women and Youth and Minister for Child Safety and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence: Shannon Fentiman

Minister for Disability Services, Minister for Seniors Minister Assisting the Premier on North Queensland: Coralee O'Rourke

Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs: Grace Grace

Minister for Housing and Public Works: Mick De Brenni

​Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries: Leanne Donaldson

Assistant Ministers

Assistant Minister of State Assisting the Premier: Mark Ryan

Assistant Minister for Local Government: Jennifer Howard

Source: ABC News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *